COLS 1000: Food for Thought

*Available through PASCAL
Offers consumers a behind the scenes look of the food and drink industries. Covers food companies and brands, the environment, health, science and technology, culture and finance. Historical context is emphasized and the focus is mainly on business in the United States

An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental two-volume work encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography.

Includes entries on Agricultural Ethics and Social Justice, Asian Aquaculture, Biotechnology Crop Adoption, Food Security, Genomics of Food Animals, Organic Livestock Production, and many more.

This encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them. Also addresses the topic of persistent world hunger and the role of crops, forests and engineered organisms in making a transition to renewable, carbon-neutral sources of energy

Covers human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 with more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Includes the Universal Declaration on the Eradication of Hunger and Malnutrition.

Main Level, Reference: R 338.197303 En19E
This encyclopedia explores social concerns, economic trends, policy influences, and ecological terms in a single, comprehensive volume.

*See the section on Hunger and Malnutrition

*Also available in print; Main Level, Reference: R 641.3 D281O
This updated edition includes new perspectives in food studies and covers approaches to food such as those offered by anthropology and sociology as well as the culture surrounding food exemplified by etiquette, gastronomy, and photography, and our shifting concerns surrounding food, including convenience food, obesity, and local food.

Main Level, Reference: R 363.192 Sa18S [3 volume set]