Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage
Covers all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.
This unique richly-illustrated account of the landforms and geology of the worlds coasts, presented in a country-by-country (state-by-state) sequence, assembles a vast amount of data and images of an endangered and increasingly populated and developed landform.
Main Level, Reference: R 599 G929G [5 volume set]
"This five-volume set is a comprehensive reference for the study of mammals. Each volume is organized by subclasses and orders--e.g., marsupials, primates. Each category is then investigated with an introductory section, information on phylogeny (evolution of the group), and articles about specific subgroups or species". Choice
This dictionary provides wide-ranging coverage of ecology and the environmental sciences. It contains 5,000 entries on subjects including plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution and conservation
A comprehensive paperback dictionary of botany, this edition provides over 5500 concise entries and includes coverage of biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics evolution, biogeography, Earth history, and the Earth sciences
Fundamental but up-to-date information is provided, arranged under 17,000 headwords. Descriptions of around 2000 enzymes and proteins are given, with details of laws, constants and formulae, in this handy reference volume
Covering every aspect of animal behaviour from adaptation to warning, this accessible A-Z also includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. Clear and informative entries on topics such as communication, learning, and navigation are backed up by examples and illustrations where appropriate.