HIST 3645: History of US - Latin American Relations

Upper Level: 327.7308 L349L2

Upper Level: 972.85052 N513N

*Also available in print
Upper Level: 983.065 K842P

*Available on request from PASCAL

5 volumes of the CIA's Official History of the Bay of Pigs Operation.

Includes English translation of speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 - 1996.

Created in and around Santiago between 1983 and 1990, the murals in this collection document the spirit, force, and iconography of political protest during an important period of Chilean history.

An unparalleled archive of gray literature (published and unpublished documents, pronouncements, action alerts, press releases, flyers, news clippings, correspondence, and other types of ephemeral material), serials, and policy reports representing the actions and views of activist groups, government officers and politicians, journalists, international solidarity groups, as well as revolutionary organizations.

A selection of key CIA, State Department, and Pentagon documentation relating to Guevara and his death.

A collection of pamphlets, flyers, posters, postcards, and other ephemera produced by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, governmental agencies, political parties, etc. in order to publicize their views, agendas, policies, and events. While materials produced in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, and Venezuela are currently the most abundant in the repository, almost every country in the region is represented.

An extensive and timely resource for the study of Guatemalan history and human rights in the region, spanning a broad array of topics from Guatemala's armed conflict between 1960 and 1996 to the sexually transmitted disease experiments performed at the behest of the United States government in the 1940s. Includes over 10 million scanned images of documents from the National Police Historical Archive.

Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Browse by administration, see a list of all pre-Truman volumes, or search within the volumes.

This collection -- 5,120 documents (over 14,000 pages) -- chronicles CIA involvement in the 1954 coup in Guatemala.

Deals with human rights in Latin America, with some documents dating from 1964 to 1995. Most of the documents concern El Salvador and Guatemala, but the collection also contains records on Brazil, Nicaragua, Honduras, Chile, and Peru.

This collection brings to the fore a unique selection of primary source documents illustrating U.S.-Argentina relations during the late 1970s, when the Argentine armed forces took control of the country.

Presents 2,842 once-secret, U.S. records--among them hundreds of declassified Top Secret CIA operational memos, cables, and reports--as well as records from the archives and courts of other nations tracing the U.S. role in Chile.

Includes approximately 2,000 documents from the State Department, Pentagon, Central Intelligence Agency, and other agencies focusing on U.S. efforts during the Cold War, the drug war, the rise of paramilitary violence in the 1990's, and the Plan Colombia and beyond.

1,704 primary-source documents on more than 50 years of dialogue between the U.S. and Cuba.

A collection of more than 15,000 pages of rarely seen documentation from the highest levels of government.

A rich update consisting the latest declassified documentation on the Cuban Missile Crisis of 1962, supplementing the DNSA’s collections, with never-before-published records.

Contains 2,071 declassified documents describing U.S. relations with Guatemala during the decades of violent conflict sparked by the CIA-controlled coup in 1954.

Includes every exhibit released by the official investigations of the Iran-Contra Affair, including the Senate Intelligence Committee, the Tower Commission, the joint select Congressional committees, and the Independent Counsel.

Focuses on one aspect of the U.S.-Mexican relationship - the complex and multifaceted counternarcotics policy.

Provides an unparalleled contemporary record of the diplomatic, political, paramilitary and economic developments which turned the small Central American nation of Nicaragua into the most controversial U.S. foreign policy issue of the 1980s.

A uniquely detailed collection of records documenting U.S. foreign policy at work in Latin America, as well as internal domestic politics in Peru.

Includes more than 27,000 pages of documents covering one of the most hotly debated subjects of the last decade: the U.S. role in the civil war in El Salvador, including intelligence-gathering, policy-making, and extensive reporting on human rights abuses.

Incorporates several thousand U.S. government documents relevant to the human rights cases that were studied by the United Nations Truth Commission.