ENGL 1002: Creative Nonfiction
Welcome!
What's in this Guide:
Get Started: Start with reference sources and handbooks to get an introduction to the style and form of creative nonfiction.
Find Sources: Search the library's databases for articles to use as sources for background research.
Online Resources: Find more resources and guides online.
Cite Sources: Get help on how to cite your sources correctly.
Library Director
Library Director
Creative Nonfiction
- "You Can't Make This Stuff Up": Complexity, Facts, and Creative Nonfictionby Chris Mays, in College English Vol. 80, No. 4 (MARCH 2018), pp. 319-341
Best Creative Nonfiction of the South, Volume I: Virginia by Best Creative Nonfiction of the South serves as a valuable resource for scholars, students, writers, and general readers interested in creative nonfiction both from specific areas of the South and across the region as a whole.
Best Creative Nonfiction of the South, Volume II: North Carolina by Best Creative Nonfiction of the South serves as a valuable resource for scholars, students, writers, and general readers interested in creative nonfiction both from specific areas of the South and across the region as a whole.
Writing -- Theory, Craft, Guidance
The Handbook of Creative WritingSteven Earnshaw (Editor). Edinburgh: Edinburgh UP, 2007.[EBSCO eBook Collection]
Creative Writing: Writers on WritingAmal Chatterjee (Editor). Newmarket: CSW, 2013 [ProQuest ebrary eBook Collection].
Vivid and Continuous: Essays and Exercises for Writing FictionJohn McNally. Iowa City: U. of Iowa Press, 2013 [ProQuest ebrary eBook Collection].
Self-Editing for Fiction Writers: How to Edit Yourself in Print.[print edition]
Renni Browne and Dave King. New York: William Morrow, 2004 2nd edition.
Upper Level: 808.3 B818S
General Reference Sources (Online)
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and StyleBoston: Houghton Mifflin, 2005 [CREDO Reference Database]
The Describer's Dictionary [print edition]David Grambs and Ellen S. Levine. New York: W. W. Norton & Co., 2015 [expanded 2nd ed.].
Main Level, Reference: R 423.1 G761D
