- Presbyterian College
- Thomason Library
- Research Guides
- ENGL 1002: Intro to Graphic Memoirs
- Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic
ENGL 1002: Intro to Graphic Memoirs
Best Literature Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering a variety of disciplines
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowThis database contains biographies and essays from Contemporary Authors, The Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and full-text articles from more than 250 literary journals.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThis database, sponsored by the Modern Language Association, contains materials on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Finding Sources of Literary Criticism
- Do a Keyword Search using:
- the name of the author
- the name of the work
- the name of a character(s) on whom you'd like to focus combined with either the author's name or the name of the work
- Do a Subject Search using:
- the name of the author in the following format: last name, first name
- the author's name in combination with the phrase "criticism and interpretation"
- example: Diaz, Junot -- Criticism and interpretation
- the author's name in combination with the title of a work
- example: Cristina Garcia -- Dreaming in Cuban
Books and Articles on Fun Home
Arresting Development: Comics at the Boundaries of Literature by Chapter 4 is on Fun Home
- The Return Journey in Alison Bechdel's Fun HomeSadri, H. (2020), The Return Journey in Alison Bechdel's Fun Home. J Pop Cult, 53: 111-128.
- Queering the Family, Reclaiming the Father Proustian Evocations in Alison Bechdel's Fun HomeOlga Michael
Biography, Volume 43, Number 2, 2020 University of Hawai'i Press - Alison Bechdel's Fun Home: Queer Futurity and the Metamodernist MemoirMeghan C. Fox
MFS Modern Fiction Studies, Volume 65, Number 3, Fall 2019 Johns Hopkins University Press - Autographic Disclosures and Genealogies of Desire in Alison Bechdel's Fun HomeJulia Watson
Biography, Volume 31, Number 1, Winter 2008 University of Hawai'i Press