HIST 3445/4000: The Holocaust
Why Use Reference Materials?
Reference Sources:
- Provide background info/brief overviews on a subject
- Provide key terms, persons, etc. to add to database searches
- Lead to more useful sources
- Help you narrow down your topic
Atlases
The Atlas of Jewish History by Call Number: R 911.56 G374A
Library Database
Dictionaries
- Historical Dictionary of Holocaust CinemaMain Level, Reference: R 791.43658 R273H
- Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology*Also available in print:
Main Level, Reference: R 940.5318 Ep85D
Key Encyclopedias
The Holocaust Encyclopedia*Also available in print:
Main Level, Reference: R 940.5318 H741H
Includes a useful chronology of events at beginning of volume.
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the HolocaustGuy Miron, editor. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem, 2009.
Main Level, Reference: R 940.53 Y1Y (2-volume set)
Additional Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of CommunismMain Level, Reference: R 947.003 En19E
- Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi MovementMain Level, Reference: R 943.08603 En19E
- The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the HolocaustMain Level, Reference: R 909.04924 En19E2 [3 volume set]
- Encyclopedia of the HolocaustMain Level, Reference: R 940.531803 En19E
- Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military HistoryMain Level, Reference: R 940.5303 En19E [5 volume set]
- Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their WorkMain Level, Reference: R 809.93358 H741H [2 volume set]
- World War II in Europe: An EncyclopediaMain Level, Reference: R 940.5303 W893W [2 volume set]
