ACCT 203: Principles of Financial Accounting
Company Financials
- Beginner's Guide to Financial Statements [US Securities and Exchange Commission]This brief brochure explains how to read the basic parts of financial statements.
- MERGENT Online This link opens in a new window
- In company search box, enter the company name
- Select desired company from the list of results
- Select the blue company financials tab
- Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis] This link opens in a new window
- From the dropdown menu on the top left, select company dossier
- Enter the company name or the ticker symbol of the company, and search
- Select the Financial Overview tab to see Assets, Liabilities, Cash Flow, Balance Sheet and more
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be downloaded in Excel, PDF, PNG, or PowerPoint formats or embedded in web pages.
- Value Line Investment Survey, Large, Small and Midcap Editions* On permanent reserve at the Reference Desk.
Reports on approximately 1,800 large, small & mid-cap stocks, ranking them for performance, technical merit, and safety. Each stock report is updated on a regular rotation 4 times a year. Current issue plus previous year.
- Company Profiles This link opens in a new windowOver 10,000 comprehensive MarketLine profiles on the world’s most important companies.
Industry Reports and Classifications
- MERGENT Online This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative financial information including US company data and annual reports, EDGAR searching, industry reports and more.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be downloaded in Excel, PDF, PNG, or PowerPoint formats or embedded in web pages.
- FDIC[Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation]
An independent agency of the United States government that protects the funds depositors place in FDIC-insured institutions. Site has updates, news, industry analysis, including bank data and stats, info on failed banks, banking trends, and more. - SIC Division Structure[Occupational Safety & Health Administration]
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) coding system for industries was last used in 1987. It was replaced by NAICS (see below). - North American Industry Classification System[U.S. Census Bureau]
Also available Main Level, Reference: R 338.02 N811N
Articles from Key Sources
- Forbes*Online in Business Source Premier: full text 1990 - present
*In print: 2008 - present - Fortune*Online in Business Source Premier: full text 1992 - present
*In print 2017 - present - Harvard Business ReviewPC has electronic full-text access to the Harvard Business Review from 1922 - present through the database Business Source Premier. To search by keyword(s) or article title, select "Search within this publication". Alternatively, select the year/month to find a specific issue.
*Print copies also available in the library from 2015 - present.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAll current PC students, faculty, and staff have free online access to the Wall Street Journal and the WSJ mobile app.
**You must first create an account at http://wsj.com/presby [be sure to use your PC email address]. Once you have registered for an account, you can sign in on a laptop using the prompt in the upper right corner of the WSJ website, or you can download the mobile app and sign in using your account credentials.
Company News
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Select the company information link in the blue bar at the top of the page
- Enter your company name in the search box
- Select your company from the list of results
- Select Search periodicals and other sources for [your company], which appears just above the company name
- MERGENT Online This link opens in a new window
- Enter company name or ticker symbol
- Choose the blue News tab [3 month back file on most companies]
- Regional Business NewsFull text coverage for regional business publications.
Company History
- MERGENT Online This link opens in a new window
- In company search box, enter the company name
- Select desired company from the list of results
- Choose History (below blue "ownership" tab)
- Links to company history may also be provided on company home pages
- Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis] This link opens in a new window
- From the dropdown menu in the top left, select Company Dossier
- Enter the company name or ticker symbol, and search
- Under Company Activities, see information on mergers and acquisitions
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
To find marketline reports, SWOT analyses, and industry profiles:
- Select the Company Profiles link in the blue bar at the top of the page
- Enter the company name
- Select the desired type of report on the left
- Company Profiles This link opens in a new windowOver 10,000 comprehensive MarketLine profiles on the world’s most important companies.