HIST 3444: World War II in Europe
Primary Sources - Databases
- Proquest Historical Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 50 different databases containing primary sources relating to a variety of disciplines, including Art, Art History, Film Studies, History, Southern Studies, and Women's/Gender Studies. Contains an extensive collection focusing on African American studies and the civil rights movement, which includes the NAACP papers and the Chicago Defender Archive. Also contains historical documents from the Digital National Security Archive, as well as historical newspapers and periodicals.
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new windowCollection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century. On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE.
- World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees This link opens in a new windowIncludes President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Map Room Files, Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Records of the War Department Operations Division, U.S. Navy Action and Operational Reports, Records of the Office of War Information, Papers of the War Refugee Board, George C. Marshall Papers, and numerous other collections. Taken together, these collections provide many different views of World War II.
Primary Sources - Online Repositories
- EuroDocsA rich array of digitized primary source documents organized by country and then chronologically.
- German History in Documents and ImagesA collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the early modern period to the present. Resources are organized by period and include an introduction essay, primary source documents, images, and maps.
- Nazi Propaganda 1933-1945[German Propaganda Archive, Calvin College]
A collection of English translations of National Socialist propaganda for the period 1933-1945, part of a larger site on German propaganda. The goal is to help people understand the great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to primary material. The complete archive is substantial. If you are looking for something specific, try the search function available at the bottom of this page. - European History Primary SourcesA searchable index of websites containing primary sources on European history, from the European University Institute
NEWSPAPERS
- New York Times Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text & full-image of NYT articles with coverage from 1851 to 2015.
- Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis] This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
- Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowAn online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London) from 1785 until 2014