Skip to main content

HIST 3444: World War II in Europe


WELCOME

Omaha Beach memorials, 1951.

A German woman from the local population loses consciousness when examining the exhumed corpses of 800 eastern slaves killed by SS soldiers. Namering, Germany, 1945.

 

Fongasse, "Don't forget that walls have ears: Careless talk costs lives," War Posters, Great Britain, Image available from ARTstor

WHY USE REFERENCE MATERIALS?

Reference sources:

  • Provide background information/brief overviews on a subect 
     
  • Lead to more useful sources
     
  • Help you to narrow down your own topic of interest

BACKGROUND INFO

The Concise Encyclopedia of World War II, Cathal Nolan, Greenwood Press, 2010.
 
Encyclopedia of World War II:  A Political, Social, and Military History, Spencer Tucker, ed., ABC-CLIO, 2005. 
Main Level, Reference: R 940.5303 En19e 
 
Encyclopedia of World War II Spies, Peter Kross, Barracade Books, 2001.
Main Level, Reference:  R 940.5485 K928e

The Library of Congress World War II Companion. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2007
Main Level, Reference: R 940.53 L616L

The Oxford Illustrated History of World War II.  Richard Overy, editor.Oxford: Oxford UP, 2015.
Upper Level: 940.54 Ox260
 
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Dictionary, 1500 to the Present, Cull, Culbert, and Welch, eds., ABC-CLIO, 2003. CREDO Reference Database.
 
World War II in Europe: An Encyclopedia, David Zabecki, ed., Garland Publishers, 1999.
Main Level, Reference:  R 940.5303 W893w
 
D-Day Encyclopedia: Everything you Want to Know about the Normandy Invasion, Barrett Tillman, 2014.
Main Level, Reference:  R 940.542142 T466D  

BY COUNTRY

Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement, Benz & Pehle, eds., Continuum, 1997.
Main Level, Reference: R 943.08603 En19e 
 
The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich, Zentner & Bedürftig, eds., Macmillan Publishing, 1991.
Main Level, Reference
: R 943.08603 G914E

The German War, A Nation Under Arms, 1939-1945: Citizens and Soldiers. Nicholas Stargardt. Basic Books, 2015. 
Upper Level: 
940.5343 St28G  

Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People and Culture, 1871-1990, Buse & Doerr, eds., Garland Publishers, 1992.
Main Level, Reference: R 943.08 M72m
 
France During World War II: From Defeat to Liberation, Christofferson, Fordham University Press, 2006.  
 
Twentieth-Century Britain: An Encyclopedia, Levanthal, ed., Garland Publishers, 1995.
Main Level, Reference: R 941.082 T918t
 
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism. Richard Frucht, ed., Garland Publishers, 2000.  
Main Level, Reference
:
  R 947.003 En19E

Encyclopedia of Russian History.  James R. Millar, ed., Macmillan Reference, 2004. 
Main Level, Reference:
 R 947.003 En19E2 

HOLOCAUST

Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, Terminology, Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen, Greenwood Press, 1997.
Also available in print, Main Level, Reference: R 940.5318 Ep85d 
 
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, Israel Gutman, ed., MacMillan, 1990 (4-volume set)
Main Level, Reference: R 940.531803 En19e
 
Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust, Schmuel Spector, ed., New York University Press, 2001.
Main Level, Reference: R 909.04924 En19e2 
 
Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust. Jack Fischel. 2nd edition, Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2010
 
The Holocaust Encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, ed., Yale University Press, 2001. ProQuest Ebook Central.
Also available in print, Main Level, Reference: R 940.5318 H741h

The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies. Peter Hayes and John K. Roth, editors. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010
UPPER LEVEL: 940.5 Ox26O

 

REFERENCE LIBRARIANS

BETSY BYRD
eebyrd@presby.edu
(864)833-8313

DAN LEE
dlee@presby.edu
(864)833-8437
  
REFERENCE DESK
(864)833-7080