ENGL 1002: The Pain of Poetry
Welcome!
Why Use Reference Materials?
Reference Sources:
- Provide background info/brief overviews on a subject
- Provide key terms, persons, etc. to add to database searches
- Lead to more useful sources
- Help you narrow down your topic
Reference Databases
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowDelivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts on File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
- Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA variety of ready reference & subject specific reference titles from highly respected publishers
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowReference e-books covering a variety of disciplines including popular culture, the arts, education, history, law, literature, religion, science, and social science
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowThis database contains biographies and essays from Contemporary Authors, The Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and full-text articles from more than 250 literary journals.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch a variety of Oxford reference books online
Defining Terms and Concepts
- The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and PoeticsAvailable both as an ebook and in print: Main level, Reference: R 808.103 P935P
This comprehensive reference work deals with all aspects of the subject matter, including history, movements, types, and critical terminology. - The Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsProvides clear, concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, including those from modern theoretical and critical movements and schools of American poetry.
- Princeton Handbook of Poetic TermsIncludes detailed discussions of poetic forms, prosody, rhetoric, genre, and topics such as theories of poetry.