Thomason Library: HIST 3251: Race &amp; Violence in U.S. History: Get Started

Welcome!

Black civil rights demonstrator attacked by a dog in Birmingham, Alabama, 1963. ARTstor Digital Library.

Why Use Reference Materials?

Reference Sources:

Provide background info/brief overviews on a subject
Provide key terms, persons, etc. to add to database searches
Lead to more useful sources
Help you narrow down your topic

Online Reference

Oxford African American Studies Center is a comprehensive online collection from Oxford University Press focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Includes articles from Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-first Century,
and Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, Second Edition

Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement
Also available in print: Main Level, Reference: R 323.1 R393H
Black Lives Matter: From a Moment to a Movement
Laurie Collier Hillstrom. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2018.
Main Level, Reference: R 323.1 H559B
Jim Crow: A Historical Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
Main Level, Reference: R 305.896073 J564J

The Ku Klux Klan: An Encyclopedia
Michael Newton and Julie Ann Newton. New York: Garland Pub., 1991.
Main Level, Reference: R 322.420973 N485K
African Americans and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia
Delores Jones-Brown, Beverly D. Frazier, and Marvie Brooks, editors. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2014.
Main Level, Reference: R 364.089 Af83A
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Twenty-First Century
Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek, editors. Westport, CT: 2003.
Main Level, Reference: R 323.1 G856G