Physician Assistant Program: Library Resources
Important Journals
- Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants*Students will need to login using their personal credentials.
Case Files Collection
- Case Files CollectionThis comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
Evidence-Based Medicine Tool
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new windowHelps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
Textbooks, Reference, Etc.
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowAccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Includes leading medical textbooks, an extensive multimedia library, a differential diagnostic tool, multiple quick reference tools, an integrated drug database, downloadable images, and much more.
- Black's Medical DictionaryContains more than five thousand definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts, with more than one thousand diagrams, drawings, and color illustrations.
Online Current Newspaper Access
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAll current PC students, faculty, and staff have FREE access to current news from NYTimes.com. **You must first create an account using your PC email address. For instructions on how to do this, go to http://lib.presby.edu/NYTimes. Once you have an account, you can login in the upper right corner of the website to receive unlimited access to content. You can also download the app for easy access via your mobile device or tablet!
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAll current PC students, faculty, and staff have free online access to the Wall Street Journal and the WSJ mobile app.
**You must first create an account at http://wsj.com/presby [be sure to use your PC email address]. Once you have registered for an account, you can sign in on a laptop using the prompt in the upper right corner of the WSJ website, or you can download the mobile app and sign in using your account credentials.
Clinical Tool
- DynaMed PlusA clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care. Rigorous and daily review of medical literature by our physician and specialist staff ensures that timely and objective analysis, synthesis and guidance are at the users' fingertips.
**Dynamed Plus can also be used via the mobile app:
- Access Dynamed Plus using the link above on a PC or laptop
- Register for a Personal Account by selecting sign in, followed by register now
- Download the Dynamed app from the App Store or Google Play
- When prompted to authenticate using either an institutional network or by signing in, select Sign In
- Enter the username and password created for your Personal Account
Primary and Secondary Research
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is a robust collection of full text journal articles in the fields of nursing & allied health.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCitations and summaries of resources for research in psychology and related disciplines
- PubMed[National Library of Medicine]
- PubMed Clinical QueriesDesigned to help users search the clinical literature to find evidence-based practice research.
Human Anatomy
- 3D Human Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new windowThis online resource covers all a student needs to know and learn for a 2 semester Anatomy & Physiology course. 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.
Need Help?
- Ask A Librarian!Search our FAQs, E-mail, text, or call a librarian. You can also chat with a librarian using the red chat tab on the right side of our webpages!