BIOL 3990: Scientific Writing & Presentation

Website developed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science that provides a forum for science news from universities, medical centers, corporations and research institutes.

This federal agency's website offers news articles (which can be browsed by topic), reports on recent discoveries, NSF publications, and data gathered by the organization. News articles provide source information.

Podcast from the British journal, Nature.

Get the latest science news with their free email newsletters, updated daily and weekly, or view hourly updated newsfeeds in your RSS reader.

An award-winning weekly news magazine covering the most important research in all fields of science.

A nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good and publishing trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists.

An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality, peer-reviewed, open-access journals. Users can browse by title, subject, language, country of publication, and publisher.

[Missouri Botanical Garden]
Web interface to a collection of online checklists of plants around the world. Allows browsing of flora by family, and genus, and searching by name, distribution.

This is a free, online, collaborative encyclopedia developed with the aim to document all living species.

[Food and Agriculture Assoc. of the UN, European Commission, & FishBase Consortium international organizations]

Online digital media collection of public domain still photos can be browsed by geographic collection and subject, or searched by keyword.

An integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world making data available for research efforts.

A science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.

This free website offers quality information on a variety of topics relating to the sciences, including ebooks and articles. Users can browse by subject or look for a specific topic by using the search box provided on each page. The site also has a "spotlight" feature that allows browsing by current "hot" topics. Articles end with a list of references as well as links to related material and "spotlight" topic discussions provide links to relevant organizations, news, and statistics.