Thomason Library: HIST 2201: American History II: Primary Sources

GENERAL US HISTORY COLLECTIONS

American Journeys
[Wisconsin Historical Society]
American Memory
[Library of Congress]
The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy [Yale Law School]
Alphabetical listings of documents are organized by century.
The Gilder-Lehrman Institute of American History.
"A unique archive of over 60,000 letters, diaries, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States" (website homepage). The collection is searchable by keyword and can be limited by era, including "National Expansion and Reform, 1815-1860".

Oxford African American Studies Center
A comprehensive online collection from Oxford University Press focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture

100 Milestone Documents [National Archives and Records Administration]
American Presidency Project [University of California, Santa Barbara]
Contains most of the public messages, statements, speeches, and news conference remarks of the President's from 1789 to the present, except for the years 1914-1928.

CQ Historic Documents
*Access available through the 2016 edition.
Published annually since 1972, each of the 38 volumes contains approximately one hundred primary source documents covering the most significant events of the year, including presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, government reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

Primary Documents in American History [Library of Congress]
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, 1929-2000 [University of Michigan]
Papers and speeches issued by the Office of the Press Secretary for Presidents Hoover through Clinton with subsequent volumes to be added as published.