PLSC/WGST 300: Women in U.S. Politics

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. We acquire, preserve, and distribute original research data and provide training in its analysis.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world by conducting public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s to the present.

The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

This is a non-partisan and non-profit organization that provides comprehensive information regarding campaign contributions, lobbying data and analysis of campaign finance data.

CSES is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world.

The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections. Great place to find election results and campaign finance data.

Contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.

Allows users to view every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map including information about the ideological positions of voting Senators and Representatives.

Contains most of the public messages, statements, speeches, and news conference remarks of the President's from 1789 to the present, except for the years 1914-1928.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.

An extensive collection of free legal material including unofficial copies of Supreme Court opinions, federal court rules, and an online legal encyclopedia.

A leading publication for Congressional news and information.

A leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation.

Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Offers comparative data and statistics related to gender, gender-based violence, gender mainstreaming & human rights, masculinity, poverty, citizenship & migration.

An annual report from the World Economic Forum with country-by-country listings for numerous indicators

While other indices measure gender inequalities in outcomes such as education and employment, the SIGI helps policy-makers and researchers understand what drives these outcomes. The SIGI captures and quantifies discriminatory social institutions - these include among others, early marriage, discriminatory inheritance practices, violence against women, son bias, restrictions on access to public space and restricted access to productive resources.

A collection of 52 quantitative indicators and 11 qualitative indicators addressing relevant issues relating to gender equality and/or women's empowerment.

Provides easy access to data collections on the topic of violence against women, such as Quick Links to certain types of VAW studies and links to studies available for online data analysis.

World and regional averages of the percentage of women in national parliaments, 1997 - present.

Information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. Provides comprehensive international and historical information on women in a variety of political positions. Information is provided on female suffrage, the first female member of parliament, yearly percentages of women in parliaments, when women reached important representational milestones, such as 10%, 20%, and 30% of a legislature, and when women achieved highly-visible political positions, such as prime minister, president, or head of parliament.

Contains 130 policy debates/observations from 13 countries coded on 28 concepts and over 110 variables. Provides information on women's movements, women's policy offices, policy making processes, and policy debates.

Compiles qualitative and quantitative data on more than 300 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. Users must register for a free account in order to use the database.

World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.

The Internet Center for Corruption Research provides you with the TI-Corruption Perceptions Index, a comparative assessment of countries' integrity performance, alongside with related academic research on corruption.

The GSS is a long running survey of social, cultural and political indicators and is widely regarded as the single best source of data [collected from 1972-2018] on societal trends.

Each year the Human Development Report (HDR) presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development. All these data are available for download here in several ways.

The overall mission of the ISPS Data Archive is to promote the preservation of data in the social sciences, with an emphasis on data from randomized controlled trials.

From the World Bank, macro data on economic, social, educational, financial, labor, poverty, environmental, health and other social science indicators for more 150 countries.

The WVS is a worldwide network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. The WVS has carried out representative national surveys in 97 societies containing almost 90 percent of the world’s population.