ARTH 220: Art in Italy, 1300-1700
Welcome!
Bardi Altarpiece (detail)
Botticelli, 1484
Staatliche Museen, Berlin
Staatliche Museen, Berlin
Image from Web Gallery of Art
Why Use Reference Materials?
Reference Sources:
- Provide background info/brief overviews on a subject
- Provide key terms, persons, etc. to add to database searches
- Lead to more useful sources
- Help you narrow down your topic
Dr. Crary's Guidelines
- Guidelines to Writing an Art History Research PaperDr. Laura Crary
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art TermsSuccinct and accessible explanations of terms used in art studies
- The Dictionary of Symbols in Western ArtMain Level, Reference: R 704.946 C23D
- Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance: Italy, France, and EnglandMain Level Reference: R 305.4094 En19E
- The Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists in the 20th CenturyMain Level, Reference: R 709.04003 P926P
- The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art TermseReference book covering painting, sculpture, architecture, and photography
- Art and Society in Italy, 1350-1500Upper Level: 709.4509023 W442A
- Art in Renaissance ItalyUpper Level: 709.4509024 P196A
Histories
History of Italian Renaissance Art: Painting, Sculpture, ArchitectureUpper Level: 709.4509024 H258H
Companions, Handbooks, & Guides
The Altarpiece in Renaissance ItalyUpper Level, 704.94820945 B893A
The Art of the Italian Renaissance: A Handbook for Students and TravellersAlso available in print: Upper Level, 709.45 W833A
Brunelleschi's Dome: How a Renaissance Genius Reinvented ArchitectureUpper Level, 726.6094551 K586B
