NOTE: To search this resource, click on "ENTER Artstor Digital LIbrary" (link at top of page).
View and download millions of images in the arts, humanities, and sciences from outstanding museums, photo archives, photographers, scholars, and artists.
The Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. The result is an outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts and many others also feature in the collection.
A collaboration between Google and museums, both large and small, from over 40 countries worldwide providing more than 40,000 high resolution images of works of art. Many allow the user to zoom in and examine the work at brushstroke level.
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries, this site intended to be a free resource of art history primarily for students and teachers.
Partially funded by the European Union, this online portal provides access to millions of books, paintings, photographs, museum objects, drawings, maps, music and spoken word recordings, newspapers, letters, diaries, archival papers, tv broadcasts, and films that have been digitized by European cultural and scientific institutions.
This free search platform provides access to digitized art history texts from prestigious institutions, such as, Smithsonian Libraries, Thomas J. Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Library of the Philadelphia Museum of Art, National Gallery of Canada Library and Archives, and New York Art Resources Consortium.
An online bibliographic catalog of resources relating to the art, literature, political thought, science, and music of the Italian Renaissance. It contains records of over 330,000 titles, including books, manuscripts, journals, music scores, photographic archives, and non-print media.
Member libraries include, Berenson Library (Villa I Tatti - The Harvard University Center for Italian Renaissance Studies), the Library of the Dutch University Institute for Art History, the Library of the Uffizi (Soprintendenza Speciale per il Patrimonio Storico, Artistico ed Etnoantropologico e per il Polo Museale della città di Firenze), and the Library of the Fondazione di Studi di Storia dell'Arte Roberto Longhi.
This site serves as a portal to high-quality resources published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, including over 400 exhibition and collection catalogues, a large number of issues of Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin and Metropolitan Museum Journal, a variety of online publications, educator publications, and a multitude of book titles, much of which is freely availalbe online. Users can browse content or search by title, author, keyword, publication type, thematic category, collection/department, and format.
The online catalog of the New York Art Resources Consortium, which combines the collections of The Brooklyn Museum Libraries and Archives, The Frick Art Reference Library, and The Museum of Modern Art Library.