PLSC 210: Introduction to Legal Studies
3 Types of Law
Most people think of "the law" as laws that are passed by the legislature, but in reality the law is a complex interplay of three types of law. These types of law typically follow the structure of the jurisdiction's government. Therefore, in the United States the types of law are:
-
Statutory Law: laws passed by a legislative body, such as the United States Congress or the South Carolina General Assembly.
-
Administrative Law: decisions, rules, and regulations made by administrative agencies which specify how they will carry out legislation. A good example is the United States Postal Service or the Environmental Protection Agency.
-
Case Law: court decisions, usually opinions written by appellate courts, which are binding law on the lower courts in the jurisdiction.~Georgia State University Law Library
Law Dictionaries
- Black's Law Dictionary, 10th edition. 2014.Main Level, Reference: R 340.03 B567B
- A Dictionary of Law, 9th edition. 2018.An authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. Its entries clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and organization of the English legal system.
- Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law, 2nd edition. 2011.10,000 entries cover vocabulary, etymologies, definitions, concepts, the judicial system, landmark cases, and government agencies
Supreme Court Cases
Welcome!
Background Information
- American Constitutional Law: The Structure of GovernmentA comprehensive core textbook and casebook that emphasizes precedent setting cases and alternative constitutional positions for courses in constitutional law and civil liberties.
- Encyclopedia of American Law & Criminal JusticeMain Level, Reference: R 349.7303 En19E [2 volume set]
- First Amendment Rights : An EncyclopediaMain Level, Reference: R 342.73085 L64F [2 Volume Set]
- Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law [2018]*Available upon request from PASCAL
This book provides an overview of legal research and includes chapters on Constitutions, statutes, regulations and ordinances, understanding case law, and finding cases.
*Older editions also available - The Legal Writing Handbook: Analysis, Research, and Writing [2006]Upper Level: 808.06634 Oa8L
*Newer editions available through PASCAL - The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States [2005]*1992 edition available in print
Main Level, Reference: R 347.732603 Ox2O - The Rules, Practice, and Jurisprudence of International Courts and TribunalsThis book examines existing international disputes resolution institutions of both general and specific subject-matter jurisdiction. Uniquely, it assesses both procedural rules and essential case-law, making it relevant for both academics and practitioners in international law.
- The Supreme Court of the United States: A Student CompanionAn alphabetically arranged, illustrated guide to the Supreme Court, including biographical articles on all the justices, summaries and analysis of key decisions and major cases, and definitions of legal terms.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political & Legal HistoryMain Level, Reference: R 320.973 Ox25O
Legal Research Guides
- Thurgood Marshall Law Library Guide to Legal ResearchAn extensive guide to legal research that includes an introduction to legal authorities and sections on electronic research techniques, background research, statutory law research, and case law research.
