CHEM 380 : Introduction to Research

An interactive online resource for learning biology

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 38 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

A web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest.

A database resource for understanding high-level functions and utilities of the biological system, such as the cell, the organism and the ecosystem, from molecular-level information, especially large-scale molecular datasets generated by genome sequencing and other high-throughput experimental technologies.

Portal for the understanding of biochemical, metabolic, and physiological processes with an emphasis on medical relevance.

Physical data (thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics) for mostly organic compounds. Search by formula, structure, CAS number, and IUPAC name.

An overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on the most important chemicals. Includes abstracts of articles on organic synthesis, a searchable index of over 1 million chemicals from suppliers worldwide, and more.

Tables charting the chemical elements have been around since the 19th century - but this modern version has a short video about each one.

Web portal for protein modeling, prediction and analysis.

Three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.

Provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms.

On SOLV-DB you can search for solvents by name, CAS Registry number, formula, or property range. The database contains a wide range of properties including physical property data, health and safety information, and regulatory information.

One of the most comprehensive enzyme information sources in life science, with convenient and easy searchable data extracted from the primary literature.

Eagle's Elements of Bioinformatics brings together all the tools in each category of bioinformatics software so that end-users can find all the information in one place.

Provides access to scientific databases and software tools (i.e., resources) in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc.

Information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.

A collection of tools for Computing, Evaluating and Manipulating Multiple Alignments of DNA, RNA, Protein Sequences and Structures.