PLSC 3020/CRIM 302: The U.S. Criminal Justice System
Find Court Cases
- HeinOnline: Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline package offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law among others.
- Legal Information Institute [Cornell University Law School]To find Supreme Court cases, select "Supreme Court" under legal resources, then select "Search" in the tool bar.
- Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis] This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
- South Carolina Judicial Department, Opinions SearchSearch by Case number, Court type, date, author, or presiding judge. The site also allows a keyword search of the full text of the opinion.
- Supreme Court of the United StatesProvides the text of US Supreme Court opinions. Use the search box to find cases by topic or by plaintiff or defendant.
Shepard's Citations
- Shepard's Citations in Nexis UniShepard's is used to determine whether or not a law is still "good law". It is now integrated into Nexis Uni. Locate the case in question and select "Shepardize this document" on the right side of the screen to see citing cases.
Essential Supreme Court Cases
Find Landmark Cases
- Legal Information Institute [Cornell University Law School]To find Supreme Court cases, select "Supreme Court" under legal resources, then select "Search" in the tool bar.
- Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis] This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
Find Case Law in Google Scholar
Try your search here, then limit to case law in the tool bar on the left, or go to Google Scholar, choose case law, select court(s), and search by citation, case name or keyword.