Skip to main content

Zotero


Create a Simple Bibliography

  • Select the references that you want to include in your bibliography.  You can select a collection, multiple collections, your whole library, or individual references.  Hold the control or command key and click to select multiple items.  Once you have selected all the items to be included in your bibliography, right click and select "create bibliography from items".

  • Select your desired citation style and choose "copy to clipboard" in order to paste your bibliography into another document.

Create a Bibliography as You Write

  • You must have the Word Processor Plugin installed in order to add citations [or footnotes] and a bibliography as you write [If you installed Zotero using the instructions in this guide, you should have done so already].
  • The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations, create a bibliography, and change citation style.
  • To add a citation, click the first button ("Insert Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.
  • At the end of your paper, click the third button ("Insert Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically.
  • You can change citation styles using the "Document Preferences" button.

Add Page Number(s) or Suppress the Author's Name

  • If you would like to add a page number or suppress the author's name (if you have already used the author's name in the sentence), click on the citation within the Zotero insert in-text citation box.  A dialog box will appear. 
  • Enter the page number(s) and/or check the box to suppress the author's name.
  • Press enter when you are finished, then press enter again to insert the citation.

 

Zotero Toolbar Explained

Here's Why Zotero is So Cool...

Watch This Video on Creating Bibliographies and Citations

Don't See the Citation Style You Need?

Zotero comes with the most popular citation styles; however, over 7000 additional styles can be found in the Zotero Style Repository.  To install additional styles:

  • Open Zotero Preferences via the Gear menu
  • Select the "Cite" tab
  • Select "Styles"
  • Below the listed citation styles, choose "Get Additional Styles"

  • Find your desired citation style and select the link
  • Save the file and click "install"
  • This citation style should now be included in your Zotero styles.

**If you are using Zotero Standalone, you will need to download the file to your computer and then add it to Zotero using the "+" button.

Still Having Trouble?

  • Zotero offers extensive documentation and support for users.
  • Go here for more help with inserting citations and bibliographies into documents.